Omelette aux Fines Herbes

Before I start I need to get a few things off of my chest:

1)  I am entirely unsure of how to spell “omelette” in English.

2) Spell check does not recognize the existence of the word “omelette”.

3)  If I try to look it up in English in my French/English dictionary it just isn’t there (even though it is in the French side).

4) I’m pretty sure my dictionary is giving me the wrong spelling in English just to fuck with me, because honestly, I would TOTALLY do that if I were a dictionary and someone like me happened to be looking up a word as random as “omelette” (or however the fuck you spell it).

5)  I will be spelling it “omelette” for the entirety of this post.  Screw you spell check.

Well none of that had anything to do with anything, but I’m feeling pretty confident that it needed to be said.  The Anti-Omelette Lobby is out to get us and we need to gather our forces together to fight back.  So…omelettes.  Well if we’re going to talk about omelettes, we first have to talk about eggs.  If we’re going to talk about eggs, then we have to talk about how I HATE making breakfast at home.  (please see the rant in the Muffin Cup Huevos Rancheros  that I made for Jake last year for Father’s Day)  If we don’t go out to breakfast on the weekend, Jake will make breakfast, and it’s usually something with eggs.  Eggs that he cooks within an inch of their precious little eggie lives.

My husband, dear readers, is an…egg overcooker

You probably know one too…if you aren’t one yourself.  You very well may be.  Think about it.  I’ll give you a minute.

He burns scrambled eggs to the point where they don’t even taste like eggs anymore.  It grosses me out.  There is no respect in the preparation there, just getting it out on the table.  I’ve tried to steer him in the other direction, but he’s a man and he thinks that just because I’ve eaten his creations in the past, there’s nothing wrong with them.  Wrong.  Oh so very WRONG.  Eggs are delicate, and they deserve to be treated with a reverence that I usually reserve for champagne or really good cheese or diamonds or an episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  A friend of Jake’s at work has hens and sent six perfect little eggies home with Jake on Friday!  We always buy free range/organic brown eggs at Trader Joe’s but I couldn’t wait to get my hands on some truly farm fresh eggs!!  And in case you were wondering, I am not letting Jake ANYWHERE NEAR these eggs!!!

Beautiful little eggs:

Perfect little eggies

Look at how they measure up to the eggs that we normally buy from Trader Joe’s!!!  TEENY!!

Perfect eggies next to the Trader Joe’s free range/organic that we usually buy!

An omelette doesn’t have to be stuffed with 87 different things to be good.  In fact, it doesn’t have to be stuffed with…wait for it…ANYTHING to be good!!  This is a meal to make if you actually want to taste your eggs.  I wanted to taste these, so this is what I found!

Omelette aux Fines Herbes

from Bonjour Paris

Ingredients:

*3 eggs (maybe even just 2 if you have really large ones)

*1 tbsp butter

*1 tbsp or so of fresh fines herbes (this usually includes herbs such as parsley, chervil, chives, and tarragon–I only had parsley on hand, so that’s all I used and it was still lovely.  All or just one of the above will work just fine!)

*Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

To Make:

*Beat the eggs together and then add the salt, pepper and whatever combination  fines herbes you choose.

*Heat the butter in a pan until almost bubbly and then gently pour in the eggs.

**Here is where I think most people go astray!  DO NOT COOK YOUR EGGS ON HIGH OR EVEN ON MEDIUM-HIGH!!  Give Medium-Low a try!!  I promise, it will change your life and the way you eat eggs!

*With the flat back of a fork, gently stir the eggs until cooked to your desired doneness. (I lifted the omelette a few times to check the underside just to make sure it wasn’t getting brown)

*Fold the omelette in half or into thirds and slide gently onto a plate.

*Yep.  That’s it.  No 87 fillings.  No 10 egg Fireman Special.  Just eggs, butter, salt, pepper, and parsley…ET VOILA!

YUM!

Survey Says:

Oh HELL yes.  This is omelette perfection.  In restaurants in France I’ve had this very omelette for lunch with a side salad and some gorgeous French fries.  Last night I had mine with tater tots and a glass of wine.  Don’t judge.   I’m going to make another one for dinner tonight using the remaining three eggs so as to ensure that Jake will not get his overcooking paws on them!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Yum! This sounds perfect and oh-so-French. Most omelettes in France are served runny, so I agree that overcooking eggs is a no-no! And I spell it the same way. My spell check tried to change it to “towlette”! 🙂

    Reply

  2. LMAO @ towelette!!

    Reply

  3. I love eggs so much, I could weep! Omelet is how I’ve always spelled it, but I am not cool and I’m from the midwest, what do we know?

    Reply

  4. Posted by celine on May 2, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    eggies? Never heard that word and that is a perfect word for those little eggs! it looks wonderful!
    I have NEVER made this before! My mom used to make the best one : she just added “ciboulette” (French chives) from our garden to the farmers eggs she bought! …I think that the taste of it will eternally transport me back to her kitchen…that’s it…I am back in France again! darn it!

    Reply

    • Eggies is my word & it is just so fitting!! I can only imagine the magic that your mother could work on eggs as she does on everything else that she cooks!!! Give it a try…SO good!! Oh et avec les pommes de terre de ta mère??? Perfection!! Faut qu’elle les fasse en juillet!

      Reply

  5. I can’t make an omelette for crap, yet my son makes SUPERB omelettes. Where did he acquire this magic?

    Reply

  6. Hi Stephanie, Your blog appeals to multiple senses and I love the personal notes that complement the recipes and wonderful photos. I nominated you for a Beautiful Blogger Award. If you decide to participate, you can find out what to do here: http://nurturingandnature.com/2012/06/17/beautiful-blogger/ ❤ Kat

    Reply

Leave a comment