Baked Panettone French Toast

Panettone is one of those holiday items that pops up right around Thanksgiving every year!  I didn’t buy one for a long time because they traditionally have bits of candied fruit in them and that’s just something that I’m not a fan of.  A few years ago, however, I started seeing chocolate chip versions in the store and I couldn’t resist.  What does one do, however, with a big loaf of chocolate chip bread?  I don’t really have a sweet tooth, so it would sit around and get stale as I worked on it a little bit at a time.  This year I resolved to not let my panettone go unloved and went on a search for an easy casserole recipe that I could put together the night before.  I found it!  I assembled the casserole before our New Year’s Eve guests arrived so it would be ready to pop into the oven whenever we managed to crawl out of bed the next day!

Baked Panettone French Toast

adapted from Parents Need to Eat Too

Ingredients:

*1 large loaf chocolate chip panettone, halved vertically and sliced about ¾” thin

*4 egg whites

*4 whole eggs

*2 cups milk

*2 splashes of vanilla extract

*pinch of salt, 2 dashes of cinnamon, and 3 pinches of unsweetened cocoa powder

To Make:

*Coat a large baking dish with cooking spray and layer the panettone slices into it. (Don’t be afraid to manhandle them a bit to get them in there!  My whole loaf fit into my 9×13 baking dish)

*In a large mixing bowl, whisk together remaining ingredients.

*Pour evenly over the panettone.

*Spray a sheet of aluminum foil with cooking spray and cover the tray, oil-side down (the casserole puffs as it cooks so this will help keep it from sticking).

*Refrigerate overnight. About 90 minutes before you plan to eat, turn on the oven to 350.

*Remove tray from the fridge while the oven warms up and when it  reaches 350, put in the French toast (still covered with aluminum) and bake for 45 minutes.

*After 45 minutes, remove foil and bake for another 10-15 minutes, until top is golden brown.

Survey Says:

Delicious and so incredibly easy!!  I put a little bit of butter on mine, but I think (in my non-sweet tooth opinion) that syrup or powdered sugar would be complete overkill and mute the subtleties of the panettone.  I used the cocoa powder to complement the chocolate, but the original recipe calls for orange juice in conjunction with the candied fruit.  This would also be great with brioche or any dense bread.

One response to this post.

  1. Hahah – We’ve been eating panettone for days! Nom nom nom! Totally making this for my Italian cousins this weekend…oooh…or maybe for my cousins birthday breakfast! FUN! Thanks as always for another fun recipe! Love it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

