Vegan White Bean Burgers

This cooking thing that I seem to have gotten myself into has changed my life in a rather unexpected way.  You see, my friends, I have lost the taste for some of my (previously) favorite convenience foods.  Frozen pizzas (and even take-out pizzas) are bland and greasy, jarred pasta sauce is sweet and fake tasting, and worst of all…my beloved Gardenburgers just plain old don’t taste good anymore.  Like not at all.  Like to the point where that when I smell them cooking (when Jake or I cook one up for Gemma) my stomach lurches.  This, my friends, is both a blessing and a curse.  Blessing:  a pack of 4 runs between $3.50-$5+ a pop.  Curse:  It is seriously one of the easiest lunches around.  I’ve been trying to figure out how to cope with this not only for myself, but also for Gemma.  She has a Gardenburger for lunch or dinner at least twice a week and that’s a convenience that I’m not quite ready to give up.  So here I venture into the world of making my own “burgers”.  I’ve been looking for something that will freeze well so I can have it on hand much like I would with the Gardenburgers, and I’m hoping that what follows fits the bill and will put me well on my way to freedom from store-bought veggie burgers!

White Bean Burgers
(makes approximately 4 thin, round burgers)

adapted from What the Hell Does a Vegan Eat Anyway?

Ingredients:

15 oz. can of cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup Italian style breadcrumbs
1 tsp. rosemary, minced

salt and pepper to taste

To Make:

*In a mixing bowl, mash the beans with a potato masher.

*Add the remaining ingredients and mix until thoroughly combined.

(if you find that your mixture is wet, add more breadcrumbs to get desired texture)

*Form into patties of your desired shape/thickness. (I prefer patties that are on the thin side)

* Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

*Heat a pan over medium/medium-high heat with enough olive oil to coat the pan.

*Add patties, and fry until browned.

Survey Says:

I think we have a winner!!!  These were tasty and really easy to make.  Most bean burger recipes have an egg in them, but I’ve found that this makes the mixture much harder to work with.  If you keep your hands wet with these, you shouldn’t have any problem getting them to stick together.  Gemma inhaled hers (that I topped with melted shredded mozzarella cheese) and Jake tried to go back for more.  We topped ours with Trader Joe’s pesto and tomato slices.  I can’t wait to make more of these to stash in the freezer!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa on December 5, 2011 at 8:36 am

    Those look really good! I’ve played around lentil burgers and red bean burgers before. They were okay, but not great. I’ll have to try out this recipe. Did you have leftover to freeze?

    Reply

    • The key here is making sure that you’ve got the right amount of seasoning for you. The Italian breadcrumbs help a lot! I made Lentil Goat Cheese burgers a while ago that were good, but they just had too many components to make it enjoyable! I’ve got two leftover that are getting wrapped in plastic wrap and headed for the freezer! I’ll post an update when those get cooked!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

