Week 3 Pinterest Challenge: Slow Cooker Refried Beans

Yeah yeah…I know…I missed Week 2 of the Challenge.  The funny thing is that I did it.  I made a great polenta, bean, and veggie dish in the slow cooker, but I just did not have the energy to write up the post.  That recipe will come a bit later because it’s a little bit more involved (and too tasty to not share with all of you), and again, I don’t have the energy to write it up!!  So as you well know by know, it always comes back to beans with me!  I’ve always thought about making my own “refried” beans, but so many recipes call for meat of some sort.  I came across the following technique on Pinterest, and pinned it right away.  As you will see in the original, you don’t need to use meat, and you can use onions and other seasonings, depending on your tastes.  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again:  I hate onions.  I really don’t like eating them, and I DEFINITELY hate cooking with them because they make my kitchen and my hands smell like hell and it’s seriously like Lady Macbeth’s “damned spot”:  I see (and smell) it even after it has seemingly been eradicated! 😉

So…to reward you for enduring the crazy rant, I proudly present you with my (more New Mexican than Mexican)…

Slow Cooker Refried Beans

adapted from 100 Days of Real Food 

Ingredients:

*2 cups dry pinto beans, rinsed

*6 cups of water

*5 cloves of garlic, grated or minced

*2 ounces (1/2 of a small can) chopped green chiles

*Pinch of cumin

*Salt and pepper to taste

To Make:

*Combine ALL ingredients in the slow cooker

*Cook on HIGH for 8-9 hours (I cooked mine for 9 just to make sure that they were really easy to mash)

*Drain the excess liquid from cooker, but put some/all aside to ensure that your beans reach your desired consistency

*Mash the beans with a potato masher (using the reserved bean liquid to reach your desired consistency…)  aaaaannnnddd you haaaaaave…

Survey Says:

These were REALLY good!  I actually used them to make Tofu Tostadas that same night, but that is a post for another (not so lazy) day.  Gemma loved them, and they were still good a few days later.  I assume that they would freeze well too.  I’m not sure we could keep them around this house long enough to find that out!!

PLEASE go take a look at the other participants in the Challenge!!  There is some awesome stuff over there!  I plan on easing myself into the awesome.  Look for some here around the holidays!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds yummy! For future reference to get garlic and onion smells off of your hands you can simply rub them all over the stainless steel knife you chop with as you wash them. It’s weird, but stainless steel removes the smell (they even make stainless steel bars for that purpose).

    Reply

  2. Garlic I have no problem with! Love it!! But even when the onion smell “wears off,” I KNOW it’s there and it just grosses me out thinking about it!! I am a total weirdo!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lizzard72 on September 25, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    I buy chopped onion in a bag at trader joes. Occasionally, you need onion (she said with her nose turned up). Avery loves beans, these sound awesome.

    Reply

  4. This sounds good! I would have to freeze them, because my hubby won’t eat beans. But I love them! I bet the baby would too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

