Pasta With Roasted Tomatoes and Goat Cheese

You may have noticed that I am obsessed with tomatoes this summer.  I mentioned before that I am apparently unable to grow them, so this is a sick cosmic joke that I suffer through.  I love them raw, but I am obsessed with roasting them this season and I was SO excited when I came across a pasta recipe that calls for roasted tomatoes in a cookbook that I have not used in a LONG TIME!  Roasted tomatoes + goat cheese=YUM!  These gorgeous tomatoes are going to be disappearing soon, so, devoted readers, I give you…

Pasta with Roasted Tomatoes and Goat Cheese

based on the Best Ever Three and Four Ingredient Cookbook

Ingredients:

*6-8 tomatoes (or the equivalent in smaller tomatoes…I usually use a mix of large and mini tomatoes for texture)

*2 tbsp olive oil

*4 ounces goat cheese (mine is always from a log, but you could definitely use crumbles if that’s what you have or just prefer), cut into small pieces

*7 ounces Barilla Plus Penne

*Salt and pepper, to taste


To Make:

*Preheat the oven to 375 degrees

*Place the tomatoes (halved, and maybe even quartered, if you’re using large ones…you can keep the small ones whole) on a baking sheet lined with foil or parchment paper.

*Drizzle with the olive oil and salt and pepper to taste.  Toss thoroughly to coat.

*Roast for 15-25 minutes, or until they are very soft and/or slightly charred (it all depends on the size and type of tomato).

(edited to add:  You can also throw some good sized garlic cloves on the baking sheet with the tomatoes a bit into the cooking time.  Roasted garlic adds a lot of good flavor here, but leave them whole-ish so it doesn’t burn!)

*Cook pasta to specifications.

*When the tomatoes are ready, put them in a large bowl and mash them gently with a fork.

*Add pasta to tomatoes and incorporate thoroughly.

*Add goat cheese to pasta and tomatoes, and gently stir until everything is incorporated.

Survey Says:

It really doesn’t get much better than this!!  Roasting does incredible things to tomatoes and with the goat cheese they are just divine!  This gives you the feel of a cream sauce without the ridiculous amount of fat that most such sauces call for.  Goat cheese is a good source of protein too.  Gemma loved this!

2 responses to this post.

  1. OMG I NEED TO MAKE THIS! I make a pasta with mozzerella and asparagus that is so yummy! Can you please compile all of your awesome recipes and then send me the book so that I can go through making them? I’d like one for each day for a year…haha! Although I think they’d all be so good..that I’d want to make them more than once a year..LOL!

    Reply

  2. You are so funny!! I would love to try the mozzarella and asparagus! That sounds fantastic! I’ll get right on that book…you know, in all of my free time!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

