Raw Heirloom Tomato Sauce

My little garden has been just about a total failure this summer.  I have harvested a grand total of two zucchini, I have one little Japanese eggplant that is trying to grow, squirrels ate all of my swiss chard and mangled my yellow squash plant to the point of being unrecognizable.  Oh, and I should probably mention that I am COMPLETELY incapable of growing tomatoes.  How stupid is that?  We have tried for the last three years (two in the Topsy Turvy, and in the ground this year) and we get a ton of flowers with nary a tomato to be seen.  This, however, has not diminished my love for all things tomato, so when I came across a blog post about an heirloom tomato pasta sauce, I knew I was going to have to give it a try!!  I don’t usually buy heirloom tomatoes, but I am FASCINATED by them!  They are weird and wild and every color of the rainbow!  Wikipedia has a really informative article on Heirloom Tomatoes, so if you’d like to learn more about them, I would recommend that you start there because I would really hate to think that you were getting your tomato information from someone who can’t even grow grape tomatoes!  This is a super easy sauce that would be great with some good quality red tomatoes if the heirlooms aren’t in your house (or budget)!  I used the Mini Heirloom Tomatoes from Trader Joe’s in this recipe.  Here’s a photo!

Aren’t they gorgeous???

Raw Heirloom Tomato Sauce

Inspired by momagementmatters.com 

Ingredients:

*6 oz pasta

*2 medium to large heirloom tomatoes (or the equivalent in mini or grape tomatoes)

*5-6 cloves of garlic, grated or minced

*2-3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

*1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

*salt and pepper to taste

To Make:

*Chop the tomatoes into bite-sized pieces.

*Add the garlic, salt, and pepper.

*Add the olive oil and toss gently.

*Let the mixture sit for 10 minutes or so while you cook your pasta to package specifications.

*When the pasta is almost cooked, add some freshly torn basil to the tomatoes and incorporate gently.

*Add the sauce to your choice of pasta!  (I used Barilla Plus Penne because it’s easier for Gemma to handle, but I would probably serve this on Angel Hair or Thin Spaghetti if I were making this for a group of adults.)  Sprinkle with some (or a lot) of freshly grated Parmesan cheese and you’re ready to enjoy!

Survey Says:

This is most definitely a winner!  Gemma LOVED it (even with the tons of garlic I added) and ate the leftovers for lunch the next day!  This isn’t so much a recipe as a starting point!  Use the amounts that work best for you, and I guarantee that you will create a fantastic meal!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Glad my garden hasn’t been a total failure this year! Eeek! 😛 That would be bad for business! Luckily, we’ve had a pretty good year!

    We grow tons of heirloom tomatoes…and I’m definitely going to have to try it out! We’ve got tons of perfect ones ready now..so I’m definitely going to give this a whirl on the weekend or something! Looks and sounds yummah!!

    Reply

  2. I. Am. So. Jealous. Every single time you talk about the farm, I die a little inside from my complete ineptitude. It’s super easy and SO good!

    Reply

  3. Hey, thanks for the shout-out! I’m making this tonight. Grew my own heirlooms this year and have lots – so exciting!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

