Grilled Pizza

Soooooo…we eat a lot of pizza around here.  There.  I’ve admitted it.  Since we got back from Rome, we make pizza at least once a week.  I have never eaten this much pizza on such a regular basis outside of Italy.  I’m pretty sure we have a problem, but I’m also pretty sure that it would be physically impossible for me to care less about that.

I think that I’ve mentioned before that Jake worked at a pizza parlor in high school, so he’s the pizza making expert around here (until very recently my only experience with making pizza included preheating the oven and opening a box from the freezer) and he takes his responsibilities very seriously.    When I brought up the possibility of making pizzas on the grill, I have to tell you, dear readers, that Jake was skeptical, to say the least.  I have been reading about grilled pizzas for a long time, but nothing had quite pushed me to try them until I read @NaynaDub’s blog post on them.  She made the whole process look incredibly easy and fun, and I knew right then that I was ready to give it a try.  I approached Jake and suggested that we grill pizzas for dinner.  He replied with, “Why?  I like them in the oven.  I’m not into strange new ways of doing things.”  I proceeded to call him a jackass and let him know that he’d better get the grill ready because we were going to grill!  Here’s what came out of that totally not juvenile exchange!

Grilled Pizza

Inspired by this blog post by the fantastic @NaynaDub who blogs at the always awesome Mommy is in Timeout 

Ingredients:

*1 ball of pizza dough divided (we did three different pizzas, but 4 would probably work too!)

*Sauce and toppings of your choice.  (tomato sauce, mozzarella, & sliced tomatoes for Gemma—spicy tomato sauce, mozzarella, & black beldi olives for me and Jake)

*Oil to rub or spritz on the grill.

To Make:

*Prepare dough to package specifications (usually letting it sit for 20 or so minutes before rolling/stretching it out)

*Divide dough into at least two balls.  It’s easier to deal with smaller pizzas on the grill rather than one large one.

*Set the grill at a medium-high heat.

*Roll out or stretch to your desired shape and size.

Oil the grill and place the dough circle (or oval or rectangle, as the case may be) directly on the grill.

When the bottom has char or grill marks to your satisfaction, go ahead and flip it over.  (Jake and I agreed that on this one we could have let it grill a bit longer, but it was OK since this one was for Gemma)

Then, place your toppings on the pizza crust.  You can do this directly on the grill, as we did, but you’ll have to work quickly because the grill is HOT!  If you have a configuration that is complicated, or you just have a lot of toppings, you’ll probably want to pull the pizza off of the grill before you top it!  (This one for Gemma was just crushed tomatoes, shredded mozzarella, and sliced tomatoes.)

Let the pizza grill until your cheese is melted, your toppings are warm, you are generally satisfied…

ET VOILA!

You are now the proud parent of a grilled pizza!

Gemma really liked hers. (and so did we!)

Our dough “circle,” and our toppings:  crushed tomatoes with some red pepper flakes added in, shredded mozzarella, and halved Black Beldi olives.  YUM!

Our finished product.  Double YUM!

Survey Says:  Awesome!!  Jake is now a believer!  It’s a much more rustic pizza than we are accustomed to, but it’s SO good!  We won’t totally forego oven baking pizzas, but this is great for those days when the thought of turning on the oven makes you want to jump out of a window!  This would be an awesome idea for a party instead of the same old barbecue fare!

8 responses to this post.

  1. I’m so glad you liked this! Yours looks delish. Next time I’ll for sure put toppings on it.

    Reply

  2. Posted by vinobaby on August 20, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    I have got to try this. I’ve always MEANT to grill some pizza. Now with such wonderful directions I have no excuse not to try.

    Thanks for linking up — so lovely to meet you.

    Cheers!

    Reply

  3. Posted by susie on April 25, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    we just tried this and it came out great!! woot! homemade pizza in the summer. yessir!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Adrienne on August 6, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    Do you have the grill set to high, med or low?

    Reply

    • My husband swears that higher heat is better! This gets the crispiness that we love, but definitely keep an eye on it no matter what temp you settle on until you know how your grill works with it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

