Baked White Bean Cakes

I know I’ve mentioned before that I have a love affair with legumes, and let me tell you…it’s a pretty sordid one.  Beans are always in our cupboard, but I’m not always inspired to do anything with them.  I have a few super simple go-to recipes, and I find myself rarely straying from them.  White beans are a favorite of mine, but I find that I have gotten lazy with them.  Sure they’re great in soup, as a dip (wow…those old photos really make my recent efforts look pretty good!) , and who could forget the mind-blowing Bruschetta ai Fagioli which was perhaps even better than the Roman appetizer from which I gathered inspiration.  Inspiration, however, is something that has been sorely lacking around here lately, so I found myself sifting through the How to Cook Everything Vegetarian app and lo and behold…I found something!  It’s neither, dip, nor soup, nor appetizer…it’s a bean cake!  Follow me…it’s made of beans, it’s a cake,  and it’s actually really good!  So, dear readers, bear with me as I present you with…

Baked White Bean Cakes

Adapted from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian app for the iPhone

Ingredients:

*2 cans of cannellini beans, drained and rinsed

*2 eggs, beaten

*1/4-1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

*1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

*6 cloves of garlic, grated or minced

*1 teaspoon minced fresh rosemary

*1/4 cup all-purpose flour (plus more if needed)

*1/2 teaspoon baking powder

*salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

To Make:

*Preheat the oven to 375 degrees

*Put the beans in a large bowl and mash to your desired consistency with a fork or potato masher.

*Add the eggs and cheese to the beans and incorporate thoroughly.

*Put 2 tablespoons of the oil in a small skillet over medium-high heat and saute the garlic until fragrant and golden.

*Stir in the rosemary and remove from heat.

*Add the flour, baking powder, salt, and pepper to the bean mixture.

*Add the garlic to the rest of the ingredients and stir until combined. (The mixture should be thick like cookie dough.  If it isn’t, this is where you can add some more flour.)

*Grease a baking sheet or place a piece of parchment paper on it.

*Form the bean mixture into 8-10 bean cakes.

*Bake for 30 minutes, or until they are crisp and golden.

Survey Says:

This is something that I would have NEVER come up with on my own, but I am so glad that I stumbled upon it while messing around with the app!  These were delicious, and I am so glad to find something to do with white beans that doesn’t involve dip!  The look, size, and consistency remind me a lot of the shortcakes that my mother in law makes with Bisquick.  Gemma ate two huge ones and I ate the plate pictured above.  Give them a try, and if you are a legume lover I promise that you won’t be disappointed!

10 responses to this post.

  1. OMG. Whenever I come to your blog I leave inspired and excited! I love legumes..but I never know what to do with them or how to use them creatively…so excited to try this out! They look exactly like biscuits I make with bisquick too!! Now if only I could pop over to try them..yum!

    Reply

  2. You know you’re always invited my dear!!

    Reply

  3. That looks absolutely delicious!!

    __________________________________________
    http://mustbeliberating.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  4. I swear every time I visit your blog I think, “Hm, I could be a vegetarian.”

    Reply

  5. These sound awesome!

    Do you think the parmesan cheese could be left out & do you think coconut oil could replace the olive oil? (my son has a fatty-acid oxidation disorder, so I’m always trying to lower the fat in recipes)

    Reply

  6. You can most definitely leave out the cheese and just season it either with a bit more salt or herbs, and I don’t think that replacing the olive oil would be a problem at all! It’s all about finding a flavor and texture that work for you!

    Reply

  7. Huge, HUGE fan of the magical fruit and I’ll be trying these for sure!!! Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

