Professing My Love for Chile with Skillet Poached Huevos Rancheros

If you ask anyone who knows me what my favorite thing for breakfast happens to be, and I can guarantee that they will all answer with a resounding “HUEVOS RANCHEROS”. The funny thing is that I don’t think that I had ever had this particular dish before moving to New Mexico. I have a big issue with chunky salsa, and much of the salsa that one finds in California is chunky. What you also find in many establishments that choose to serve my (now) beloved Huevos Rancheros (at least ones that I remember frequenting while living in California) is the use of jarred and rather low-quality salsa. NOW…I don’t want a bunch of comments telling me how your fave restaurant in Cali makes it’s own salsa and…it’s not the point! The dish never appealed to me because it always seemed to lack in quality, and I still find this to be true when we head back for visits. ::ducks flying salsa::

This brings me back to our move to New Mexico (7 years ago this Memorial Day Weekend)! There most certainly is salsa here…some good, some not so good…but New Mexico’s main focus is CHILE!! Not chili, but CHILE! The official state question is “Red or Green?” and you had better not answer “None”. I’m pretty sure that I remember reading somewhere that you can be taken straight to the airport by the authorities and sent home for this particular transgression. πŸ™‚ But let’s get back to the subject at hand: Huevos Rancheros. I love them, but I do not love the idea of making them for I do not enjoy messing up my kitchen. Jake, on the other hand, loves messing up the kitchen…but that is another story for another time. When you order “Huevos” in most (but not all) restaurants around here you get: eggs, beans, and potatoes (usually hash browns) all covered in (red, green, or both kinds of) chile and cheese. Restaurant Huevos Rancheros are DELIGHTFUL, but oh-so-far from good for you! A few years ago, however, long before Gemma was born, I picked up an issue of Real Simple Magazine that had a recipe for what they called Skillet Poached Huevos Rancheros. It’s not exactly what we get in a restaurant here, but it works. Jake and I have had it for dinner many times, and I made a small portion for myself for lunch today. I’m going to give you what I used for just me, but just double (triple, quadruple) the portions if needed.

Skillet Poached Huevos Rancheros

Adapted from Real Simple Magazine

Ingredients:

*3/4 black beans (drained and rinsed)

*1/4-1/3 cup of green chile (chopped, sauce, or your favorite salsa)

*1 large egg

*1/8 cup of shredded cheese

To Make

*In a small skillet, combine the chile and beans and bring to a simmer

*Make a well in the bean mixture.

*Crack the egg into a small bowl and slide it gently into the well. (season with salt and pepper if desired)

*Cook, covered, over medium heat, 4 minutes for a slightly runny yolk.

*Sprinkle with cheese and let cook uncovered for another minute.

Survey Says:

YUM! I’m so happy to have resurrected this recipe, and it will definitely be back in the rotation of go-to and super easy meals! This is so good and simple that I don’t even miss the potato aspect of my breakfast Huevos Rancheros…and I LOVE breakfast potatoes! In the past, Jake and I have had it for dinner (2 eggs each) served over arugula or baby spinach, and it is great.

**I should also mention that my favorite chile to keep on hand for cooking at home (it’s what I’ve used in every recipe featured on the blog that calls for green chile) comes from 505 Chile. It’s pretty easy to find in stores around here, but they do ship! I always use their Roasted and Diced Green Chile when I cook.**


5 responses to this post.

  1. Um yummo! Think I will be making this for dinner tomorrow night. I’m so bad in that I only plan 1 day at a time, I just can’t seem to get the whole weeks menu planned in advance. Thankfully we can walk / stroller to the grocery store every day as needed vs. drive. If I couldn’t walk there then I would have to plan ahead … yikes, that’s a scary thought. Note to self – can never move!

    Reply

  2. LOL! I never really plan ahead either because I just never know what I’m going to feel like eating! I keep a lot of pantry items on hand at all times and go from there. I can also walk to Whole Foods or the regular store if I need to…now if only TJ’s were closer!

    Reply

  3. oh dear… this looks really delicious. I’m always searching for something yummy and different. πŸ™‚
    **stopping by from Fledgling Friday!

    Reply

  4. Oh, that sounds good! I love it when you find something in your new area that beats the pants off what you used to know.

    Reply

  5. Posted by mysoulforsale on June 2, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    Okay, that looks seriously yummy. Seriously. I look forward to giving it a shot! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

