Dreaming of a New Kitchen Over Spaghetti con Carciofi e Aglio

::sigh:: This is another one that I used to make all. the. time in our other terrible little apartment.  It was small and awful, but (like I’ve mentioned before) the kitchen was in our living room so I didn’t ever feel isolated while I was cooking.  It was a terrible kitchen, but I never really minded it (except for there being no counter space, cabinet space, or dishwasher…).  These days we live in a great house in a great neighborhood, but we have a kitchen that is basically closed off from the rest of the house.  THIS is why cooking is a chore for me.  I cannot see what anyone (read:  Gemma) is doing in the rest of the house when I am in this kitchen and it drives me NUTS!  Hence the constant use of the slowcooker!  I love the freedom to be anywhere in the house…hell, anywhere in the city…while my dinner is cooking!  I ended up making this dish the other night, however, because Jake got home in plenty of time to help put Gemma to bed, which left my hands free for cooking (and a much-needed glass of Pinot Grigio)!

Like the other pasta dishes I’ve made, this one is simple but feels really elegant.  The Mario Batali original calls for dealing with fresh artichokes.  I love fresh artichokes, but I have neither the time nor patience to deal with them for a weeknight dinner.  Frozen artichoke hearts are super tasty, especially when you dress them up with a little (OK…a lot of) garlic and white wine.  So I present to you…

Spaghetti con Carciofi e Aglio

Loosely based on a recipe from Mario Batali

Ingredients:

*1 12 oz bag of frozen artichoke hearts (thawed and patted dry)

*5 oz spaghetti (cooked to just under package instructions…pasta will cook more with mixture)

*2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

*12 cloves of garlic (smashed but basically whole)

*3/4 cup of dry white wine (pinot grigio is always a good choice as is prosecco…just make sure that it’s something that you would drink!!  Use veggie broth if you’re avoiding alcohol)

*salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes to taste

*1/2 cup or so of cooking water from pasta

To Make:

*Place the olive oil and garlic cloves in a large pan and place over medium high heat.

*Cook until the garlic is light golden brown and starting to get fragrant.

*Add the artichokes to the garlic and oil and cook until tender.

*Add wine as necessary to slow the cooking.

*Add the chili flakes and season with salt and pepper.

*Add the spaghetti (which has been cooked to just al dente) to the artichoke, garlic, and oil.

*Toss all over high heat 1 minute, adding pasta water little by little to make sure that the spaghetti is thoroughly incorporated into the mixture.

*Serve topped with fresh Parmesan and more red pepper flakes!

Survey Says:  Done right, this one feels like dinner in a restaurant!  There is just something about artichokes and garlic that does it every time for me!  Gemma got the leftovers for lunch the next day and loved it!  Make sure that you let the garlic cook enough so the flavor mellows to match the artichokes!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Yum, looks good. Now, I just need someone to make it for me!

    Reply

  2. Posted by saundra on May 13, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    Sounds soooooo yummy! Can’t wait to try this!

    Reply

  3. I have never been so sad to be on a low-carb diet EVER. That looks amazing!

    Reply

  4. Looks great! Too bad I can’t eat garlic. 😦

    Reply

  5. 😦 I think it would be really good with some chopped fresh tomato in place of the garlic. Totally different flavor, but I think that it would compliment the artichoke and taste awesome with the white wine!

    Reply

  6. This sounds awesome – bookmarking it so I can cook it when my husband gets back!

    Does it cook enough to cook the alcohol out? (not for me – for my kiddo lol) I always cook with wine. 😉

    thx

    Reply

  7. You can always cook it longer…I’m of the “there’s so little wine in the whole thing that the little bit that could still be in it isn’t too much” camp…and seriously…cook it longer…that’s never a bad thing with garlic and wine…(or just use the veggie broth)…

    Reply

  8. You had me at slow cooker and artichokes! I LOVE artichokes… they’re my fave veggie and I love finding news ways to serve ’em up! And slow cookers only get more awesome in the summer when I don’t wanna heat up my whole kitchen with the oven! This is awesome!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Sakya Schuler on May 16, 2011 at 9:34 am

    I am going to make it this week. Artichokes are the best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

