The Blahs and the Blog

::sigh::  I suppose that I should just come right out and admit that I am in a cooking and blogging slump!  I had great plans for this past weekend that involved dried white beans, two beautiful tomatoes, garlic, rosemary, and olive oil…big. time. fail!  The beans took WAY longer to cook than the recipe implied and Jake and I ended up eating ravioli on arugula.  It was a good dinner…just not the one I had in mind.  I finished up the beans the next day and they ended up to be delicious (they are something that I WILL make again and I will pass the results on to you!), but this is really the first time since I started this blog that something hasn’t worked out as planned, and I don’t like when plans go awry.

I put a lot of pressure on myself with cooking, momming, wifeing and such…I need to let go a little bit more and realize that there is only so much I can do in the measly 24 hours of every day.  We are taking off for Northern California early tomorrow morning for my grandmother’s memorial service.  It should be a great celebration with all of her family and friends, and I’m hoping to return home as refreshed as possible (after traveling with a toddler and a husband) and ready to attack the kitchen and the blog!

What seems to help you out of “slumps”?  (I need some inspiration!)

6 responses to this post.

  1. Sometimes, slumps happen. They just do. It’s not a BAD thing – it’s just LIFE. I find that the more pressure I put on myself..the easier the come into my life..and the worse they are.

    Don’t worry that it didn’t play out EXACTLY as you wanted it to..I get that feeling of disappointment..and wanting it to go exactly as you had planned..but..eh..it’s life. Life NEVER works out that way..and that’s okay…luckily it turned out fine the next day ANYWAY – so clearly..it wasn’t even really a big deal at all! Now you know – and can pass along the awesome another time!

    Maybe once you get back and you’ve rested a little bit..caught up on sleep, twitter and telling me how much you loved and missed me (I’m so funny eh?) you can make one of your GO TO recipes – something that never fails, that you love and is so classicly simple and awesome you can’t help but be like..LOOK AT ME! I’M AWESOME! Not that you really need to tell me that..since I kinda already know that 😛 Or do a search on allrecipes.com and find something that’s easy and delicious and give it a go – something that isn’t so complex..but still just as awesome – will make you feel better and be yummy yummy in your tummy! 🙂

    I hope that you enjoy your weekend away..even though it is a little bit of a sad reason to be seeing people..you’ve gotta make the best of it I guess. Just don’t forget your corkscrew 😉 OR your underwear.

    Lots of love and hugs – don’t stress too much..I’ll still be here waiting to read and drool whenever you’re ready to your cooking and/or blogging on 🙂

    Reply

    • I love that I can always count on my Canadian to get me to pull my head out of my ass! You may not know what Cheez Its are, but you are wise beyond your goat-laden years!

      Reply

  2. First, I LOVE that you are looking forward to “a great celebration.” Oh if we were able to have memorials like that, the world would be a better place.

    Second, I LOVE that your “fail” dinner was ravioli on arugala. If we had that for dinner tonight, it would top every meal we’ve had since the holidays. I envy those of you who cook with such ease. Even more I truly envy those of you who enjoy it. Cooking for me feels like a chore no matter how I do it. So mostly I don’t. Like not at all. Reading your blog is like reading about an exotic vacation destination I know I’ll never visit, but still like to drool over.

    Third, embrace the slump. Blog for you. Not for others. That’s when the magic happens.

    Finally, have a great trip. Travel safe.

    Reply

    • You truly make me blush Ruby! Cooking is definitely not easy for me! I started the blog mostly because I needed to be held accountable in some way. I LOVE going out to eat, but we were doing it way too much…I (and the Pants and Jake) deserve better than that! It takes a lot of effort…especially since most nights I’m eating by myself! I try to pick recipes that are easy because I don’t have a kitchen that I like to spend time in. It’s pretty terrible!

      I will embrace the slump…I will embrace the slump!! & thanks…many many thanks!

      Reply

  3. Posted by celine on April 30, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    you don’t want to know how many times I have attempted a recipe or something new and ended up calling Dana to the rescue or simply ruined the whole thing.
    Usually what gets me out of a “slump” is taking a long walk with Zoé in the stroller. I do a lot of thinking, even planning while walking and sometimes talking to myself and Zoé!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lisa Riddle on September 17, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    Hey Stephanie. It’s Lisa Riddle, married to Val Sutter — another Army Chaplain like Stephen! I feel your pain with cooking disasters! It happens. Don’t sweat it. I agree with whomever it was who replied earlier… to embrace those mistakes in your blog. I think folks resonate with imperfection! Let your readers learn from your mistake! Best of luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

