Risi e Fagioli con Spinaci

Dear Universe:  It is officially spring, so why are you insisting on being windy and miserable??  ❤ Me

It is so incredibly windy today that there is no way in HELL that I was going to attempt the walk that I really wanted to go on this afternoon.  After much debate, Gemma and I set out for our lovely, little (and I do mean little) aquarium this afternoon, and happened upon Jake’s shooting location on our way there.  We stopped and texted to let him know where we were and let him find us.  It was such a happy happening (yes, I’m goofy) for the three of us.  Jake’s friends and coworkers love seeing her, and she was in such a good mood (as opposed to how she is at home…but I digress).  Those poor film workers (Susanna Martinez…I’m looking right at you…glamorous my ass) stuck working in the wind all. afternoon. long.  And just so you know…30-40 mile an hour winds are pretty freaking brutal if you’re stuck in them trying to do your job.  Try it.  I dare you.  Go ahead.  I’ll wait.

I decided to take pity on my poor husband and make sure that he had a good, hearty dinner waiting for him when he gets home after being blown halfway to Arizona.  This soup is nothing but a variation of the Pasta e Fagioli I have been making all winter.  I was inspired to put it together after hearing what a friend on Facebook was making for dinner one evening.  This is one that will definitely justify keeping your slow cooker out for a little while longer (even if it is officially springtime)!

Risi e Fagioli con Spinaci

Ingredients:

*2 tbsp olive oil

*6 cloves garlic

(*I usually use rosemary, but it was too windy to go pick it!!)

*1 can cannellini beans (drained and rinsed)

*1 1/2 cups tomato purée (pasta sauce, ground tomatoes, diced tomatoes, whole tomatoes…whatever you choose but I really like the ground tomatoes or the puree because you’re not pitting other flavors and textures up against the beans and pasta)

*4 cups vegetable broth

*1/4 cup short grain (Arborio style) brown rice (or whatever kind of rice you like)

*2 handfuls baby spinach leaves, roughly chopped

*Salt and pepper to taste

To make:

*Put slow cooker on warm or low and add olive oil, garlic, (and rosemary) to let the oil absorb the flavors before adding the rest of the ingredients.

*Add the rice and incorporate into the garlic/oil mixture.

*Add the cannellini beans and the tomato.  This is where I add salt and pepper to flavor these ingredients.

*Add broth and cover slow cooker.

*Cook on high for 3-4 hours (or on low for 6-7)

*About 20 minutes before serving, add spinach

Survey Says:

This is a good and easy soup!  I love that I can throw the rice in at the beginning with the rest of the ingredients…I kept forgetting to add the pasta and then we’d have to wait 15-30 minutes more to eat (not good with a starving husband)!

7 responses to this post.

  1. I think that I’m in twitter jail. I don’t know. I’ve never been here before. Send cheese, and a pillow. Please? Also. Maybe some of this soup..it looks SO GOOD.

    Reply

  2. LMFAO!!! All of the above are on their way to you!!!

    Reply

  3. I’m not in twitter jail anymore.

    This still looks just as delicious..yum! Can I come to your house for dinner?!

    Reply

  4. 🙂 Yes please! Be here when I get back from the gym and you can help put the Pantster to bed!

    Reply

  5. […] are a favorite of mine, but I find that I have gotten lazy with them.  Sure they’re great in soup, as a dip (wow…those old photos really make my recent efforts look pretty good!) , and who […]

    Reply

  6. Posted by Tasha on September 15, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    This sounds great! I finally got our slow cooker going again, so maybe we will try this soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

