White Bean Dip

So it is “Meatless Monday” once again!  I know, though, that it is not always easy to completely change your ways with food (especially if you have a family)!  If you can’t quite convince yourself or the others in your household that “meatless” is the way to go for a full meal, try easing yourself into it with a tasty appetizer or dip.  Canned beans (otherwise known as legumes) are inexpensive, really nutritious, and more versatile than you could ever imagine!  I always have several cans of black, cannellini, pinto, and garbanzo beans on hand so I always know that a quick snack or meal is within my reach!  Hummus has been the most popular “bean dip” for a while, and can be found in just about every supermarket in a multitude of flavors these days.  I used to make my own a LONG time ago (and it was pretty good, if I do say so myself), but tahini was pricey and hard to use up before it got difficult to work with.  These days, my favorite hummus comes from Sahara (which is down the street from our house), and I just go pick some up if I get the craving…they just do it better than I ever could!

After our trip to Italy a few years ago, I started playing around with white beans (cannellinis are just the kind that are the most common) and they have served us very well!  They are great on salads, in soups, and as a dip that is great with bread, pita chips, or even crudités.  So iff you find yourself growing bored of hummus, or just want to try something new (or just can’t afford to keep tahini in the house), give this a try!

White Bean Dip

adapted from the How to Cook Everything app by Mark Bittman

Ingredients:

*1 can cannellini beans

*1/4-3/4 cup vegetable broth (amount depends on your preferred texture)

*2-3 tbsp olive oil

*4-6 cloves of garlic (minced or finely grated)

*salt and pepper to taste

*red pepper flakes (optional, but seriously awesome)

To Make:

*Drain and rinse cannellini beans.

*Purée beans with the broth (I don’t add the broth all at once so I can add more if I need too.  A bit at a time works well.)

*Heat a medium-sized saucepan on Medium and add the olive oil.

*Once the oil is warm, add the garlic and cook until it is fragrant (Be sure to pay attention here!  Burnt garlic is not tasty!).

*CAREFULLY add the bean purée to the saucepan and heat through.  Make sure that the garlic and olive oil are thoroughly incorporated.  Salt and pepper to taste.

*Transfer to a serving bowl and top with red pepper flakes as well as 1-2 tsp of olive oil, if desired.

Survey Says:

I could eat this every single day!  It is easy enough to whip up for a quick snack (and Gemma loves it too), yet it has a certain level of sophistication that makes serving it as an appetizer at party a no-brainer!  I always get rave reviews when I serve this!  You can even make a double batch and keep some in the fridge for random snacking.  YUM!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tasha on March 21, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    This is just what we need! I’m going to have to try this one soon 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by saundra on March 22, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Sounds wonderful! Will definitely have to try!

    Reply

  3. Yum!!! I love your blog. I have been a vegetarian for 9 yrs now and I love new recipes. My 2yo dd has a severe sesame allergy so I can’t have hummus anymore. This is a perfect replacement!!! Cool…

    Reply

    • Thanks SO much! It means a lot to me that other veggies can discover new things here!! I love this dip and it’s so much less labor and ingredient intensive than making your own hummus!! :-))

      Reply

  4. […] of mine, but I find that I have gotten lazy with them.  Sure they’re great in soup, as a dip (wow…those old photos really make my recent efforts look pretty good!) , and who could […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

