Slow cooker “Curry” (and the rambling confessions of “that girl”)

I put curry in quotation marks because I don’t want anyone to think that I think that this even resembles a traditional Indian curry.  I do not grind my own spices.  In fact, I have very few spices that are prevalent in Indian cuisine (this is something that I would like to remedy in all of my copious free time).  I like curry powder.  I like it a lot and in large quantities.  That is all on that subject…for now.

So before we get to the recipe I must confess something:  my husband has been off of work all week, and I find that I am bad at a lot of things when he is at home.  I am a bad friend, dieter, housekeeper, grocery shopper…and most of all and where all of you are concerned…blogger.  I fear that I have become that girl. It sounds silly because in my mind that girl is usually the one who lets her life fall by the wayside in hope upon hope of catching that guy that she’s trying to impress.  I’m just a girl trying to spend time with her husband, but I still feel like that girl.  Because he works in the film business, his time at home with us (during normal business hours) is sporadic and unpredictable at best.  I never know from one day to another when he’s leaving and when he’ll be home, and sometimes this means that all of my plans for my entire week go to shit.  If he goes in at 7am on a Monday morning we know that there’s a possibility that his Friday could end by 2am.  If, however, like last week, his Monday starts at 10:30am, we know that he’s not getting out of Friday much before the sun rises on Saturday morning.  Maybe someday (when he’s not on vacation) I should sit down and write this ALL out and really see how screwed up it is.   In any case, I know that it takes a toll on him, but man, it sure takes a toll on this lady (and the baby) of the house.  All sense of schedule and normalcy that I try to keep in place for Miss Pants while he’s working seems to go out the window when he’s here.  It’s kind of a sickness, and it’s one that I really need to get over, but I’m really not sure how.  No one’s life is normal, but ours really isn’t.  I feel like we have to pack months of normal life that we don’t get to live into 10 days of vacation, and while it’s great…it still sucks.  I’m not sure that there’s a solution, but I wanted to explain the slacking with a good, old-fashioned ramble.  Now on to the deliciousness!

I got the idea for this “curry” from a good friend who just so happens to be Gemma’s best babysitter!  She uses carrots and eggplant in hers, but eggplant is expensive now and I forgot to get carrots at Trader Joe’s yesterday.  I also couldn’t fi nd the garam masala that she said I absolutely needed…I will get it for next time and report back!  I did, however, get another head of cauliflower that I thought would go nicely with potatoes and peas.

One of the main things to take into consideration when using the slow cooker is the size of your device.  I have a 4 quart Corningware casserole style machine as seen here.  The key is to neither over nor underload your cooker.  The quantities that I have given work for mine, but tailor them to your needs!

Slow Cooker “Curry”

from my good friend Michaela

Ingredients:

*2 1/2 medium red potatoes (unpeeled and cut into small/medium chunks)

*1/2 cauliflower cut into florets (about the same size as potato chunks)
*1 can coconut milk
*4 cups (1 box) veggie broth
*6 medium cloves of garlic (can use onions or leeks too)

*3 tbsp curry powder

*1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (to taste)

*salt and pepper to taste

(*a pinch of garam masala…I’ll add it next time!)

*frozen peas (fresh spinach might also be a good one to try depending on the veggie combo!)

To Make:
*Chop potatoes and cauliflower (or whatever veggies you decide to use…if you use onions, put them in now) and put them in the slow cooker.

*Combine the can of coconut milk and the curry powder, chili flakes, salt, pepper, and the pinch of garam masala (if you’re using it).  I also grated my cloves of garlic into this mixture to make sure that they were evenly dispersed.

*Pour coconut milk/spice mixture over veggies and stir

*Cover with broth

*Cook on low for 6-7 hours (or until the potatoes are soft)

*Add frozen peas about 10 minutes before serving

Survey Says:

This is great!!  The spice is good and the potatoes and cauliflower go together really well.  We had quinoa tonight, but brown rice would be delicious with it!  I’m really excited to try out different veggie combinations.  It was good and spicy, but not so much that our noses were running and we couldn’t finish it.  Jake and I each ate two servings, and there are plenty of leftovers.  Maybe we’ll let Miss Pants give it a try with some Greek yogurt to cool it down (even though she likes the spicy!).  Thanks so much to Michaela for giving the tools that I needed to make something that I have truly enjoyed!  Play with it and let me know what you come up with!

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michaela on March 17, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Woohoo! I feel like a celebrity being mentioned on the blog! SO glad you enjoyed it!

    Reply

  2. This sounds delicious! I love curry too, especially when combined with coconut milk. I will definitely be making this soon. I also love my crock pot and anything that can be made in there is always a fave. Thanks for sharing!

    And I’d love to hear more about your hubby’s job and how you make it all work. If you read my latest blog post, you’ll see that I’m all for doing it “your own way”, which certainly seems to be the case in your fam! xoxo!

    Reply

  3. Posted by mysoulforsale on March 18, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    I do love me a good curry. You should pick up a box of ‘Chana Masala’ mixed spices (green box with a picture of a bowl of prepared chickpeas on the front)… all the work is done for you and I promise you that if you follow the instructions on the box, that it will be the best Indian chickpeas you’ve ever had.

    I didn’t know your husband worked in the film industry. Constantly changing work hours would be a major bummer on a young family. Here’s hoping that his schedule settles down a bit! 🙂

    Reply

  4. The Chana Masala sounds delicious!!!! And thanks for letting me bitch and moan a bit here…I usually don’t even let myself think about “normal life” because it’s just not an option for us right now (and it’s what allows me to stay at home), but when we have chunks of time together it makes me wistful!

    Reply

    • Posted by mysoulforsale on March 20, 2011 at 5:08 pm

      I used to work shifts and have a crazy schedule, and I so don’t miss it. I definitely take my regular Monday to Friday schedule for granted. Hang in there! (And always feel free to vent in bloggy-land… that’s what it’s here for!)

      Reply

  5. I so cannot cook. My hat is off to you. This does indeed sound delish, though. 🙂

    Visiting from Fledgling Friday – good to ‘meet’ you!

    Reply

  6. Curry looks yummy.
    I don’t blame you for spending every second with your hubs when he’s home. I would too

    Reply

  7. Anything that can cook in the crockpot is a friend of mine!

    Reply

  8. Ha! Think I might try this. I need to get a slow-cooker. I am a slow learner when it comes to cooking. I am finally figuring things out in that room 🙂 You should check out my gadgets! Monday is gadget day over at my blog.

    Reply

  9. Oooooh! I love gadgets! Especially kitchen ones! And get yourself a slow cooker…it will change your life!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

