Roasted Curried Cauliflower (+Cilantro Rice)

Although it feels like Spring is just about upon us here in the ABQ, the evenings still get a bit cool and breezy.  I have been looking for a hearty cauliflower recipe that didn’t involve milk and cheese (I have a great cauliflower gratin recipe!), and my Twitter BFF Liz (from North Shore Mommy) just so happened to be making one and she was kind enough to pass it on to me.  Cauliflower, curry, chili flakes, and very little oil…how could this be bad??  I decided to pair it with the Cilantro (Lime) Rice from last week (without the lime), but I think that it would be good with couscous or quinoa too…I really do need to start branching out on my grains!

Roasted Curried Cauliflower

from Vegenista (via Liz at North Shore Mommy)

Ingredients:

*2-4 tbsp olive oil (depending on your tastes as well as the size of the cauliflower)

*2 garlic cloves, grated or minced

*2 tsp. curry powder

*1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes (or to taste)

*Pinch of sea salt & pepper

*1 head (about 3 cups) cauliflower, cut into florets

To Make:

*Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

*In a large bowl, whisk together the oil, garlic, curry, red pepper flakes, salt & pepper.

*Add the cauliflower & toss until well coated.

*Pour into a 13 x 9 inch baking dish & bake until tender (about 25 to 30 minutes)

Survey Says:

DELICIOUS!!!  The flavor of the cauliflower was perfect and the curry powder turns it the most beautiful yellow color!  My only issue with it was that our cauliflower was too small and we were still craving more after it was done!  I think that we’ll make a double batch next time.  If any of the spices seems like too much for you, by all means adjust the flavors for your tastes.  They all compliment one another really well and I’m sure that minor adjustments won’t really affect the overall effect.  Make this before Spring hits its stride.  As for the rice…I did exactly what I did the last time I made it, and it came out crunchy.  I told you guys that I had bad luck with rice!  The flavor of the rice, however, was quite good with just the cilantro and an extra tsp. of olive oil to account for the lack of lime juice.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you liked it. When I made it, I bought a package of pre-cut organic cauliflower from Whole Foods and it actually made quite a lot. I found it to be pretty spicy, but in a good way. Glad you enjoyed! xoxo

    Reply

  2. We love cauliflower! That looks yum … I’m glad you said you would make a double batch, I thought it might not be enough for us. Was it too spicy for Pants / did she try it?

    xxoo
    Maegan

    Reply

  3. It was SO good, but the Pants didn’t get any because we usually put her to bed before we eat (because that’s usually what I have to do during the week so I don’t go crazy!). Next time we’ll give her leftovers & she loves the Curried Lentils and Potatoes, and just when I think I’ve made them too spicy…she just can’t get enough! Strange little creature!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

