Spaghetti with Peas and Garlic

A long time ago, back when the cat still slept in bed with us, long before Gemma was even a thought, back when my husband was not yet working 15 hour days, I used to cook dinner.  We lived in 650 square feet, our kitchen was in our living room (I’ll try to dig up photos as proof…but it seriously was), we had to eat all of our meals at our coffee table because there was no space for a dining table, and I used to cook dinner.  Time has passed, we have a house that is twice the size of our previous abode, work days have gotten longer, schedules have become unpredictable (the nicest f@#&ing word I can come up with), and I have done a lot of feeling sorry for myself.  A big cooking effort seems like a big waste of time and energy when you are the only one eating dinner.  I had stopped really caring about dinner, but times are changing.  I have a little Pantsaroo who counts on me to provide a sense of normalcy for her, and beans and cheese, take out, and delivery every night are/should not be normal.  If nothing else, blogging about my journeys in my kitchen and sharing them with all of you keeps me accountable (and keeps me from eating falafel, hummus, and French fries every single day) and gives me one more reason to use my cookware/wedding gadgets!

It’s been fun rediscovering dishes that I used to cook on a regular basis before our collective life got more complicated.  The dish that follows is one such dish.  Now I know that it might seem like a lot of peas and garlic for not a lot of pasta, but I subscribe to the school of thought that the pasta (except in the cases of stuffed pastas) should be merely a vehicle for the sauce or vegetables with which it finds itself intertwined.  So, dear readers, I present you with…


Spaghetti with Peas and Garlic

Ingredients:

*5oz dry spaghetti (I use Barilla Plus)

*1 cup frozen peas (I use Trader Joe’s “Petite Peas”) thawed

*2tbsp extra virgin olive oil

*12 cloves of garlic, peeled

*1/2 cup of dry white wine (pick something that you would also like to drink because you may not use it all! 🙂 )

*Salt, pepper to taste

To Make:

*Place the olive oil and whole garlic cloves in a large pan over medium-high heat.  Cook until the garlic is fragrant and light golden brown.  **I like to smash the garlic so that it cooks up a bit faster, more thoroughly, and more evenly.  If the pieces split while smashing, it’s no big deal.**

*Add the thawed peas to the olive oil and garlic.  Cook so that flavors mingle and that the garlic gets soft.

*Add wine to the pan a bit at a time (when necessary) to slow the cooking and to flavor the mixture.

*Season with salt and pepper, cover, and set aside.

*Cook the pasta according to the instructions (since you will be returning it to the pan, however, pull it out a minute or so early so it doesn’t get mushy.  My spaghetti called for 10-11 minutes and I pulled it out around 9).  Don’t forget to salt the water just before adding the pasta, it makes a big difference!

*Before draining, set aside about 1/2 cup of pasta water.  This will help moisten your pasta without overusing oil.

*Drain well (DO NOT RINSE) and return to the pan with the mixture of peas and garlic.

*Toss everything together over medium-high heat for 2-3 minutes and serve immediately.

Survey Says:

Much like the Spaghetti with Lemon of last week, this is just a good light (but hearty) meal that can stand on it’s own and doesn’t take much time.  This would be absolutely perfect with a glass of whichever white wine you used to flavor the peas and maybe a few pieces of baguette if you need a bit more.  Don’t forget that you can always play with the proportions to suit your own needs.  Jake and I weren’t super hungry, so I didn’t make too much, but doubling works out well.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by celine perreard-allen on February 28, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    miam! I can imagine la petite miss having fun playing with this dish!
    I want to make it for our petite miss too!

    Reply

  2. This sounds so delicious!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tasha on February 28, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    This sounds great to a garlic lover like me, who happens to have a pasta loving hubby!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Roberta on February 28, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    Going to try it tonight

    Reply

  5. Posted by Roberta on March 1, 2011 at 5:52 am

    Added parmesan cheese .. Grandma loved it.. Maybe make it with different pasta next time that might be easier for het to eat..

    Reply

  6. I am not a cook, but I could so pull this off. Thank you for sharing the recipe. And the best part is I know my 21 month old will LOVE this!

    Stopping by from Robin’s Fledgling Fridays. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Yum! I love peas on pasta.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Elena @NaynaDub on March 4, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    Nom Nom! This sounds delicious!

    Reply

  9. Yum! What a great, light dish for spring.

    Reply

  10. Posted by mysoulforsale on March 5, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Man alive that’s a lot of garlic… a woman after my own heart!!! Great post and pic as usual!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

