Spaghetti with Lemon

There are times where pasta sounds good to me, but tomato sauce does not (and I don’t make cream sauces)!  Here is a perfectly easy meal to throw together on those nights.  I used to make this all the time and I’m not sure why I stopped.  It’s going back in the rotation!

Adapted from The Best Ever Three & Four Ingredient Cookbook

Ingredients:

*6oz dried spaghetti (I really like the Barilla Plus because it has added protein and fiber and tends to resist mushiness)

*juice of one and a half medium lemons

*2 garlic cloves, very thinly sliced

*2-3 tbsp olive oil

*salt and pepper to taste

To make:

*Cook the pasta according to the instructions (since you will be returning it to the pan, however, pull it out a minute or so early so it doesn’t get mushy.  My spaghetti called for 10-11 minutes and I pulled it out around 9).  Don’t forget to salt the water just before adding the pasta, it makes a big difference!

*Before draining, set aside about 1/2 cup of pasta water.  This will help moisten your pasta without overusing oil.

*Drain well (DO NOT RINSE) and return to the pan.

*Pour the olive oil and lemon juice over the cooked pasta.

*Add the garlic and salt and pepper to taste.

*Toss the pasta over medium heat for 3-4 minutes.  (I wanted to make sure that the garlic was soft enough) Use the pasta water (little by little…not all at once) to help moisten and finish cooking the pasta.

*Serve (with freshly grated Parmesan if you want, but it is definitely not obligatory)!

Survey says:

This was fantastic!  It’s very filling but very light at the same time.  We ate it on it’s own, but an arugula salad would go with this perfectly!  Play with the amounts of lemon and garlic to find the perfect balance for your tastebuds!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah on February 22, 2011 at 10:17 am

    I’m trying this recipe today!

    Reply

  2. I like pasta with a tomato based sauce, but I’d love to try this- it sounds really yummy.

    Reply

  3. This sounds delicious! I can’t wait to try it!

    Reply

  4. I would definitely make this – sounds great. Thanks for posting! xoxo

    Reply

  5. Yay! So glad you posted this and linked up with me for Fledgling Friday.

    My son loves pasta (of course) but sometimes doesn’t go for tomato sauce. He loves tangy flavours though so I bet he’d love this!

    Reply

  6. Posted by mysoulforsale on February 27, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    I make this, too, but I throw a handful of parsley (or a few good grinds of black pepper for a “lemon pepper” thing) in there instead of the cheese. I haven’t made this in a while, either… thanks for reminding me about it! Arugula is an awesome idea. I’m going to try it that way next. Good stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

