What’s For Lunch???

This is a question that I often ask myself as Gemma and I get home from the gym and I’m trying desperately to get her down for a nap.  I’ve never been a big lunch person.  I mean…I eat lunch (for the most part), but I never give it too much thought.  It’s usually leftovers or one of a few standard concoctions (beans and rice, salad with faux chicken, scrambled eggs, frozen dinner) that I’ve invented over the past few years that I can throw together in my sleep.  I never make sandwiches.  And I certainly never make cold sandwiches.  They always taste a little “off” when I make them.  Now my mom can make the hell out of a cold cheese sandwich with lettuce, pickles, and mustard.  She should open a sandwich shop with those sandwiches…but I digress.

LUNCH…it’s really important, and I gave some thought to that today and decided to put a really nice lunch together for myself.  This lunch was so nice that it can (and will) be (sometime soon) dinner.  This is not a recipe…nothing was made from scratch, but if you are looking for a way to jazz up your lunch hour, I’m pretty sure that this will do it.  I do, however, take absolutely no credit for the invention of this concoction.  A lovely variation was served to me by the gorgeous Saundra one night for dinner at her house and I felt like an idiot for not thinking it up on my own.

All you need to put this together are really four things:  fresh ravioli, fresh greens, Parmesan, and some olive oil.  Trader Joe’s has an impressive selection of fresh filled pastas (I used the Goat Cheese and Sun dried Tomato today, I have Parmesan and Arugula in the fridge) and greens (I love arugula).  Go with whatever sounds good to you!  Cook the pasta according to the package, and while you’re doing that, put a few handfuls of greens in a good sized bowl and dress them.  I just used a little bit of olive oil, a splash of champagne vinegar (not too much so the pasta isn’t overwhelmed), and just a little salt.  When the pasta is ready, splash the greens with a little bit of the cooking water (just to warm them) and arrange the pasta on top.  Drizzle with a bit more oil and grate some cheese and you have a beautiful lunch that comes out looking like…

THIS

It was awesome!  That’s about all I can say!  I’m going to do my best to make myself a nice lunch at least once a week!  How about you?  What are your go-to lunch staples?

8 responses to this post.

  1. Oh yum! This looks great. Like you, I also love arugula. I have a great recipe for whole wheat pasta mixed with wilted arugula, chick peas, sundried tomatoes, and goat cheese. You basically mix it all together and dress it with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Super easy!

    Reply

  2. I’ll find the recipe and email it to you!

    Reply

  3. Ok, here is the recipe I used: http://www.shape.com/healthy-eating/recipes/whole-wheat-shells-with-chickpeas-and-arugula I subbed goat cheese for the feta a few times and it was delish. I also took out the raisins b/c hubby hates those. But otherwise, that’s pretty much how I make it. Enjoy!

    Reply

  4. This looks delish! Thanks for linking up for Fledgling Friday 🙂

    Reply

  5. Peanut butter and jam. I’m creative like that lol

    Reply

  6. Posted by mysoulforsale on February 19, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    This looks lovely, and I hear ya’ on the trying to figure out what the heck to make for lunches thing. It’s hard enough to try to come up with interesting dinners every day! I tend to cook big batches of things on the weekends for our weekday lunches (we both have microwaves at work), and package them straight in to the containers that I’ll put in our lunch bags the night before. Casseroles, stir fries, or anything dry-ish like that works well. I rarely do sandwiches, because it’s actually more work than just making my own “tv dinners” on Sunday afternoon. Further to this, I’ll also do big pots of soup or other such concoctions to help with weeknight dinners. My fridge is very full at the end of the weekend, but it dwindles throughout the week. You have to be prepared to do some meal planning, but once you get used to it, it saves a ton of time and frustration. Lovely plate pic!

    Reply

    • Thanks!! The food prep gets complicated for us because my husband is in the film business (where they feed him breakfast, lunch, and dinner) so I have to figure out the right balance of food for me and the babe without so many leftovers that they need to be tossed over the weekend! I feel you on the sandwiches…too much work, and not enough payoff! We’ve been doing a ton of the two soups that I blogged and the Curried Lentils and Potatoes because they are filling and keep well. Have a great week! Can’t wait to hear more!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

