Roasted Brussels Sprouts

I had never had Brussels sprouts until I started living with my husband way back when he was just my boyfriend.  He had grown up eating them and adapted his mother’s method of making them into something that is just magical.  He pan fries them in about a half stick of butter…Paula Deen anyone??  Now don’t get me wrong…what he does to them is magically delicious, but when we eat them I can hear our arteries creaking and begging for mercy.  What follows is not a complicated recipe…it’s not even one that I made up…but I want everyone to know that Brussels sprouts are beautiful and awesome and don’t need to have their flavor masked by anything!

 

 

Ingredients:

*1-1/2 pound Brussels sprouts (washed, cut in half, and yellow leaves removed)

*1/4 cup or so of olive oil

*Salt and pepper to taste

To Make:

*Preheat oven to 450 degrees

*Toss sprouts with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

*Place cut side down on baking sheet (I use parchment paper to avoid sticking)

*Roast until caramelized, 25-30 minutes (This totally depends on the size of your sprouts…I checked mine at 20 minutes and they were perfectly done.  I would set the timer for 15-20 minutes, check them, and then go from there)

*Top with some good Parmesan cheese and ENJOY!

 

Survey Says:

These were divine!  Jake likes to experiment with spice combinations when he makes them so I was expecting him to add them to these, but he wholeheartedly approved of the simplicity!  Sprouts always end up being the main course whenever we make them, so all we added was some toasted olive bread and and entire container of Boursin cheese…perfection!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I love brussel sprouts! I have a recipe I like but it is very fatty (cheesy) this one looks wonderful. I’ll have to try it soon.

    Maegan 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

