“Fried” Quinoa (or my take on “Fried” Rice)

I did not have the energy to go all out on dinner last night!  I really wasn’t sure when Jake was going to be home but I knew that it was going to be later than normal, so I was really only dealing with myself.  Gemma had leftover Curried Lentils and Potatoes and I decided to bake up some Tofu.  The question was:  what to eat with the tofu?  I made up some quinoa in the 2qt cooker and I decided to use it as the rice in my super-easy (not technically fried) fried rice that I like to make.  I’m trying to lose the last stubborn 4 pounds of Gemma weight (which would probably melt away if I gave up Marble Pilsner and the $6 Chianti at Trader Joe’s…but who asked you anyway????) so I don’t use any oil in this (I have non-stick cookware) but I’m sure a little wouldn’t hurt!

Ingredients:

*2 cups of cooked quinoa

*about 1 1/4 cups frozen peas

*2 eggs, beaten

*soy sauce to taste

To Make:

*Heat up a non-stick frying pan to medium/medium-high

*Add quinoa to pan and warm

*Add peas and cook until mixture is all about the same temp

*Add soy sauce and mix thoroughly (I have a soy sauce addiction so I add quite a bit here…just add what tastes good to you)

*Create a well large enough for the egg mixture and pour mixture in

*Let the mixture set up a bit, then integrate eggs with the quinoa and peas

*Serve with tofu (or whatever) and more soy sauce if desired!

Survey Says: Not only way better than I was expecting it to be, but it was downright delicious!  Jake even really enjoyed it, and he hates when I sneak brown rice and other healthy stuff into food.  I thought that the texture of the quinoa might be weird and not hold up with the eggs and peas, but I could not have been more wrong.  It worked out really well, and quinoa is so much more nutritious than even brown rice.  I ended up making this double batch because Jake got home much earlier than I expected and he hadn’t eaten dinner yet!  The same “recipe” works perfectly cut in half.  I ate the leftovers of this and the baked tofu for breakfast this morning. 🙂

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Roberta Boyd on December 15, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    We love quinoa!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

