Pasta e Fagioli

Oh how I hate the term “pasta fazool”.  It sounds like “drool”…like a greasy faux-Italian barely literate resident of New Jersey has drooled in your perfectly good pasta and bean soup…yuck!  Whew…now that I’ve gotten that off of my chest I can move on to tonight’s dinner:  Pasta e Fagioli or Pasta and Beans.  Most recipes that I found for Pasta e Fagioli call for a pound of ground beef and a ton of other crap.  This simple soup holds up just fine on it’s own and won’t leave you feeling sluggish!

In the interest of full disclosure, I do need  to tell you all that I made this soup the other night, wrote a post about it, and it was promptly erased by a glitch in the server.  That is probably a good thing!  The soup was good, but I was not happy with the jarred pasta sauce that I was forced to use because it was in the house and I didn’t feel like dragging Gemma to the grocery store for an alternative.  I was also not happy with the fact that I added the pasta way too soon and it was mushy by the time we got to the soup.  Again, it was good, but I am pleased to have a second run at it!

Ingredients:

*2 tbsp olive oil

*garlic and rosemary chopped finely (I used 4 large cloves)

*1 can cannellini beans (drained and rinsed)

*1 1/2 cups ground tomatoes (pasta sauce, diced tomatoes, whole tomatoes…whatever you choose but I really like the ground tomatoes or the puree because you’re not pitting other flavors and textures up against the beans and pasta)

*4 cups vegetable broth

*3 oz (by weight) small pasta (I used ditalini rigati that I brought back from Italy, but any small pasta like shells or orzo should work well too)

To make:

*Put slow cooker on warm or low and add olive oil, garlic, and rosemary to let the oil absorb the flavors before adding the rest of the ingredients.

*Add the cannellini beans and the tomato.  This is where I add salt and pepper to flavor these ingredients.

*Add broth and cover slow cooker.

*Cook on high for 3-4 hours (or on low for 6-7)

*Add uncooked pasta 10-15 minutes before serving and keep an eye on it to make sure it does not get mushy!

Survey says:

AWESOME! So much better than the last one.  I am so glad that I switched from the pasta sauce to the ground tomatoes!  There is, however, no photographic evidence because my camera battery crapped out at the last moment, but take my word for it…great! (I will post a photo the next time I make it!) Perfect on a chilly evening with some toasted bread and goat cheese.  Whew…I feel better that I redeemed myself with a good ingredient swap and finally getting this post written!  Now on to other meatless, yet not fruitless, endeavors!


3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Starvin' Marvin on December 7, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    Uuuuhhh I would like to know when you will be serving appetizers!

    Reply

  2. Posted by celine perreard-allen on January 30, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    ok so I am new to this way of cooking…
    don’t pasta get mushy anyway after heating for hours…?

    Reply

    • 🙂 Don’t add the pasta until you are about 10-15 minutes away from serving it! The rest of the soup can, and should cook for hours…the flavors really develop…especially if you put about 1/2 cup of red wine in when you add the tomato!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

