A Summer Salad On A Near-Winter Evening

Yeah, I know…eat in season and all that jazz, but I stopped by Whole Foods on my way home from the gym yesterday and they had beautiful bunches of thin asparagus at 2 for $5!  I could not resist!  Jake, Gemma, and I decorated the tree earlier today and I had already decided that we were going to have a TJ’s frozen pizza (which makes me so grateful to have a husband that will eat and like whatever I put in front of him!) but seeing that beautiful asparagus reminded me that Jake and I have been sorely lacking in the green veggies department lately! 

I got into the habit over the summer of grilling veggies like asparagus, zucchini, and yellow squash in the oven and tossing them on a spinach salad.  The spinach is sturdy enough that it can take just about anything you want to throw at/on top of it.  All it needs is a bit of olive oil and some champagne vinegar and you’ve got yourself a beautiful and easy salad.

 

 

 

To make this uber-complicated veggie :-):

*Preheat oven to 425 degrees (mostly because it’s the temp that our pizza will need to be cooked at!

*Cut asparagus into bite size-ish pieces

*Toss with about 1 tbsp of olive oil, salt, and pepper

*Place on baking sheet and bake for 5-8 minutes (depending on your asparagus)  7 minutes was just right for ours.

And do what you will!  I’m pleased with myself that I figured this out (yeah, I’m really not the brightest bulb in the kitchen) because although I love asparagus, I was never quite sure what to do with it!  Here is the final product from this evening.  It was delicious!  The champagne vinegar and olive oil goes really well with some crumbled feta!  We were stuffed after this and our pizza.  Not the most exciting post, but whatever…this is a blog about vegetarian food…I only promised meatless, I never promised exciting.

 

Leave a Reply

