Tofu with Soy Peanut Sauce and Spinach

I am officially freezing to death!  OK…just had to get that out there!  We had a frozen pizza from TJ’s for dinner the other night because I could just not deal with putting in any effort!  Those things are good and have kept us from starving for many years.  Tonight, however, I have decided to get my act together and cook some dinner.  This is another recipe adapted from one that I found somewhere else, but the other one called for limes and other things that I don’t always keep on hand (I’m a lemon girl myself).  I like to bake the tofu before I put it in the slow cooker with the mix.

Tofu with Soy Peanut Sauce and Spinach

Adapted from A Year of Slow Cooking

Ingredients:

*1 block extra firm tofu (I use the lite)

*2 tbsp natural peanut butter (feel free to add more, but I’m a girl who would rather have another glass of wine than another tbsp of peanut butter!)

*1.5 cups veggie broth

*fresh spinach (no set amount…I usually just use up whatever I have)

*soy sauce (to taste)

*crushed red pepper (to taste)

To make:

Baking the tofu is easy.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  To drain the tofu place it in a colander and put a pot with some water in it on top of it.  I usually leave it there for 30-60 minutes but a little longer won’t hurt.  Cut into pieces and dry off with a towel.  I put a piece of parchment paper on a cookie sheet and I spray that with cooking spray (I’ve had bad experiences with sticking!) then arrange tofu.  I pour soy sauce over all of the pieces and make sure that all sides have been coated.  Bake for 7-10 minutes on each side.

To make the sauce turn the slow cooker on low and add peanut butter, 1 cup of veggie broth, soy sauce and pepper flakes.  Let peanut butter melt a bit before adding the tofu.  Cook on low for 2-3 hours.  About 30 minutes before serving, add spinach to the top and pour remaining 1/2 cup of broth over it.  Add more soy sauce and flakes if you desire!

I bought a little 2qt slow cooker yesterday because I’ve been thinking about experimenting with smaller breakfast casseroles for the three of us , and decided to use it to cook the quinoa so as not to be scrambling to cook it at the last minute.  I looked up slow cooker quinoa on line and it said to use 1 cup dry quinoa + 2.5 cups water + 2 hours on low…Next time I will use the stovetop ratio of 1 cup quinoa to 2 cups water.  It was super watery and mushier than normal but I’m not giving up on the 2 qt!

Survey says:  Good…not my best effort on this dish, but still good!  Sorry there is no photo of the finished product, but Jake and I had just gotten home from the gym and scarfed it up!  I will definitely be making this again soon and will have most likely recovered my tofu mojo!

One response to this post.

  1. […] know that I made this tofu dish last week, but please remember that my tofu (and quinoa) mojo was sorely lacking and I promised to […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

