Slow Cooker Beans and Rice revisited!

Nooooo…we don’t get into food ruts in the Cottrell household at all!  😉   I have decided to make a double batch of the Beans and Rice recipe this evening because I am tired of trying to figure out what I’m supposed to eat for lunch while Gemma is napping!  The single batch is perfect for the two of us for dinner, but there are never leftovers!  It has been a while since I’ve doubled the batch so I figured it couldn’t hurt to write it up!

Slow Cooker Beans and Rice (double batch)

Adapted from A Year of Slow Cooking

 

Ingredients:

*1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)

*1 can pinto beans (drained and rinsed)

*1 cup short grain brown rice (365 brand)

*2 cups veggie broth

*10-16 oz green chile (or to taste…I dumped about 15.5 oz in on accident…this should be interesting!)

*1 tbsp olive oil

To make:

*Add olive oil to the pot with the rice and stir together to make sure that rice is coated.

*Add beans, broth and whatever amount of chile (salsa/tomatoes) you choose to use.

*Cook on high for 3-4 hours or on low for around 6.

Survey says:  How could this be bad???  (I know…I really need some grips and my own first unit electrical to get the lighting right because the existing lighting in my kitchen is terrible.  That’s a future post!)  We scarfed it down and only left a cup and a half serving for me to have for lunch tomorrow!  Gemma even had some and was pleased (I made a spinach and cheese scramble for her because it was spicy!).  Now I am going to have a glass of champagne and contemplate my awesomeness!

Leave a Reply

