Roasted Curried Cauliflower Soup

On Sunday afternoon, as I was supposed to be working, I was thinking about what I was going to make for dinner.  I’ve been overworking my slow cooker these days and I decided to give it a day off.  There was a head of cauliflower in the fridge that needed to get used, so I set about looking for recipes for cauliflower soup.  The problem is, dear readers, that SO many cauliflower soup recipes call for cream or half and half.  Now, I’m no vegan, but like I’ve said before…I’d rather have an extra glass of wine (or three) than use calorie laden ingredients that won’t be missed.  My search lead me to the blog Fat Free Vegan Kitchen.  I don’t have a problem with good fats, so fat-free isn’t really my main goal in life, but this recipe incorporates a potato to help add creaminess to the soup.  It works!!

This is just myRoasted Curried Cauliflower made into soup form, so if you liked that, you’ll love this!  Oh and if you do not have an immersion blender, GET ONE NOW!  There is no reason in HELL that anyone should be ladling hot soup into a blender.  Ridiculous.  There are really expensive immersion blenders, but there are also really inexpensive ones.  I have an inexpensive one that I got as a wedding gift 5 years ago.  Go buy one.  Seriously.  Do it.  You’ll thank me later.

Roasted Curried Cauliflower Soup

Inspired by Fat Free Vegan Kitchen

Ingredients:

*1 head of cauliflower, cut into florets or chunks

*2 tbsp olive oil

*2-3 tsp curry powder (depending on how currified you like your stuff!)

*5 -6 cloves of garlic, smashed and peeled, but left whole

*1 large potato, peeled and cut into chunks

*4 cups (1 box) vegetable broth

*Salt and pepper to taste

To Make:

*Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

*In a large bowl, whisk together the oil, curry, salt & pepper.

*Add the cauliflower and garlic and toss together until well coated.

*Place in baking dish or baking sheet & bake until VERY tender (35-45 minutes, depending on the size of your florets)

*While the cauliflower and garlic are roasting, heat the vegetable broth and the potato in a large pot.

*Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and let simmer until the cauliflower is ready.

*Once the cauliflower is VERY tender, add it to the pot with the broth and potatoes.

*With an immersion blender, blend until smooth.

*Salt & pepper to your taste here if you feel like it needs it.

*Simmer for 10 minutes and serve.

Survey Says:

AWESOME!  This was super easy and so good!  Jake and I inhaled most of it that night, but we saved some for Gemma and she liked it…to eat, as well as to smear in her hair when I wasn’t looking!  We had this with an arugula salad with a little bit of olive oil and a squeeze of lemon juice…delicious!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’m with you on the immersion blender! I never had one until I bought one at Goodwill about… oh… 10 years ago for my craft craze at the time — homemade paper. When that craze passed, I stuck the immersion blender in my craft box and forgot about it for YEARS! About a year ago, I remembered I owned one and that its intended purpose is a kitchen tool (d’oh), pulled it out, cleaned it up and have been using it for creamed soups ever since. You’re right. Hot soup in a blender? Ridiculous. This appliance definitely earns its space in the drawer! And regarding creamed soups, I’m with you on eliminating the cream. I use a little bit of fat free milk to give it some creaminess. I make cauliflower/broccoli soup in the pressure cooker with just enough broth to cook the veggies but not so much as to make it watery. By the way, I purchased the pressure cooker with a gift card your parents gave my husband and I for our wedding a few years ago! I also use the pressure cooker — and immersion blender (!) — for butternut squash soup and sweet potato soup! Wow, now I’m hungry…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 863 other followers

