Hell Froze Over With Muffin Cup Huevos Rancheros

Dearest Readers:  Although one of my main goals when I started this blog was to focus on eating out less often, I am an epic and complete failure when it comes to making breakfast.  Sure, I can scramble a few eggs for myself or Gemma, but when it comes to “making breakfast” for everyone (whether it be eggs, waffles, pancakes…oh sweet Jesus I hate when Jake wants to make pancakes…) I freaking hate it.  It is messy and time-consuming and it makes me want to curl up in the fetal position while consuming mass amounts of both coffee and mimosas.  We go out for breakfast at least once a weekend, and I’m pretty much OK with that.  That said…you all know me well enough by now and therefore know that I cannot resist Huevos Rancheros.  I came across the following recipe one Saturday morning while watching Food Network (and waiting for Jake to return with breakfast from our favorite restaurant down the street…I told you we love take out!!) and I knew that I was going to have to give it a try.  Father’s Day seemed like the perfect occasion, but alas, no occasion is perfect for making breakfast.  Ir was still annoying, still messy, and still freaking time-consuming…but really freaking delicious!!

Muffin Cup Huevos Rancheros

from Melissa d’Arabian

Ingredients:

*8 5-inch flour tortillas

*8 eggs

*Non-stick cooking spray

*1/2-3/4 cup green chile (or your favorite salsa)

*3/4 cup black beans (drained and rinsed)

*1/2 cup of your favorite shredded cheese (I used a sharp cheddar)

To Make:

*Preheat the oven to 400 degrees

*Trim the outer edge of each tortilla.  Spray each side of the tortilla with the cooking spray and press it into the muffin tin to create a little tortilla cup.

*In a bowl, mix the chile (or salsa) with the beans and season with salt and pepper.

*Put a heaping tablespoon of the black bean mixture into each cup.

*Crack an egg into each cup and bake until barely set (8-10 minutes).

*Top each egg cup with cheese, cover with aluminum foil, and bake for another 6-8 minutes.

*Top with more chile/salsa and some sour cream, if desired.

Survey Says:

This is pretty easy and tasty as far as breakfast goes, but oh man…did it remind me why we are big on going out for breakfast!  Jake and Gemma both loved it, so I’ll probably have to give it another try…hold me.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Tasha on June 22, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    Um…yum! This looks so good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 863 other followers

